COMING BACK TO REALITY – EASY OR DIFFICULT?

It´s been long time since I posted something on my blog. And reason? Well, my sweet time when I was getting crazy for my travels through Latin America has already finished. I came back to Europe. Back to Slovakia. Back to reality. And how does it feel?? To come back after 8 incredible, life changing months spent on the continent of passion, of positive energy and of never-ending smiles on people´s faces??Well, this article will describe how I dealt (actually still deal) with this big shock after coming back to reality …

Firstly, everything what I will write is taken from my subjective point of view. So in case you disagree with some statements, feel free. 🙂

So let´s start. Question for those who have never travelled abroad for longer than 10 days spent on all inclusive vacation – Have you ever been thinking how it would feel to come back “home” after, let´s say one or two months living in another country? Or after half a year? A year? 10 years? Probably most of you would say that you would be excited to come back, see your lovely family, amazing friends, get some traditional tasty food, get back to normal and settle down … This is what I was thinking before I started travelling. Before going to USA to work at children´s camp. Before going to Spain to do my Erasmus exchange programme. Before starting my slavery job on cruise ship in France (well in this case I really grieved for coming back haha). And before I crossed the Atlantic to start my life changing internship in Colombia. Uff, so naive! Once you start exploring beauty of travelling, you will never be able to get back to normal and lead normal life. You get addicted. Addicted to getting to know strangers on daily basis, to getting out of your comfort zone, to exploring of unexplored, to seeking adventures, adrenaline, passion. The normal life back “home” cannot give you this. And why do I actually write “home” in quotation marks? Because this word may be very questionable regarding its true meaning. What I can call home, you wouldn´t even dare to call this home. For example: my home used to be kitchen floor in Argentine village Lujan de Cuyo, my another home used to be a tiny shared room with cats (to which I have allergy haha) in Colombian town Santa Rosa de Cabal, my home used to be (and in some cases still is) in so many different places …

In my opinion, home is everywhere where you feel attached emotionally. Everywhere where you find people in you surrounding who love you. Who supports you. Who makes you laugh. Who makes you happy and satisfied. It is not strictly about blood relation. It is about people in your surrounding who make you happier person only because they are with you. I found my home in so many different places all over the world.  Surely, my first home is home with my family relatives, my parents, sister, niece, nephew, …. My next home I found in Spain during my Erasmus studies. Then in France while working with amazing people on a river cruise ship. And my last home I found in Colombia. Or actually in the whole South America. Because people there, and people are the one who count most when talking about home, made me realize what I really want in my life. One simple thing. TO BE HAPPY! To do in my life what makes me happy. To enjoy all tiny details which are taken for granted by so many of us. To give free hugs to unknown people. To talk to strangers in the streets. To smile at people you don´t know. Latin people taught me not to take life too seriously. To relax a bit. While travelling in South America, I had to stay in very extreme accommodating conditions from time to time. Sharing rooms or even beds with complete strangers, cold shower, dirty houses, … But people were always worth it and I did not care. Actually, I started to feel like at home in certain places. Because I was surrounded by amazing, open minded and open hearted people who would have given me their last just to make me felt welcomed.

But let´s get back to my case. How does it feel to come back to normal life? Back “home” after longer time spent in different country? After I already explained what home means for me, you won´t be surprised when I say that for me it wasn´t coming back home from foreign countries. It was coming back HOME from HOME! From place which I love to place which I love, too. Because on both places I have either my family, my friends, and/or people who make me happy. So I don´t have to explain you that while flying back to Slovakia, I had extremely mixed feelings. Should have I been happy to see my family back in Slovakia or should have I been sad and frustrated to leave behind me countries, places and people who changed my way of thinking forever? Freaking hard question. I felt both. Actually I still do. I hoped that after seeing my family, my little cute niece and nephew, after reuniting with my best friends, that something in me would break and make me realize that my “real home” is in Slovakia. However, after 5 long months spent Europe, I just made myself sure that my real home is not the place, but people around me! Wherever it is…

Now I am living in Prague, capital of Czech Republic. Living with bunch of young people in large apartment, working as an event coordinator in one 5* hotel and at the same time as a guide in one travel & event agency and I am trying (still not sure if successfully haha) to get used to normal life with normal responsibilities and duties at least for a while. There is not a day in a week that I wouldn´t be thinking of Colombia. Of South America. Of people there. Of their culture and happy faces. Of their willingness to help you in any situation. I am not accustomed to the European way of life and way of thinking and very probably I will never get used to it. Most people in Europe seem to be too strict, too serious. Tend to complain a lot. Have lack of ability to enjoy life and everyday pleasures. So what will be with me in future? Where will I find my “home”? And with who? Maybe everywhere … Maybe I will become a nomad and start leading that “abnormal” way of life, moving from place to place till I ….  settle down?! Who knows … But for now I am truly trying to enjoy new chapter of my life. To enjoy pleasures of Prague. To enjoy meeting new people. To enjoy everything that comes to my way. Because this is the life I choose for now. My choice, my decision and who knows how long it will take me to come up with new idea and new place to go. 🙂

IMG-20160508-WA0021

CARPE DIEM my friends! And be HAPPY!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

